Scholarships draw best, brightest to insurance

The Insurance Institute of Canada and Toronto Insurance Conference each handed out scholarships this week, encouraging some of the best and brightest to pursue a career in the insurance industry.

Scholarships draw best, brightest to insurance

Risk Management News


The Insurance Institute of Canada and Toronto Insurance Conference each handed out scholarships this week, encouraging some of the best and brightest to pursue a career in the insurance industry.

Marking its 20th anniversary this year, the John E. Lowes Insurance Education Fund provided scholarships to Kyle Atkinson, Kathy Matte, Daniel Levinson and Alexandra DeMarchi; while Dhruv Vyas, Neelam Vyas and Thilini Indraratne each received scholarships from the Toronto Insurance Conference.

Although the TIC scholarship winners are not affiliated with the Insurance Institute, all recipients received their awards at the Lowest Fund Breakfast on Wednesday.

The John E. Lowes Insurance Education Fund is a charitable trust dedicated to assisting Ontario students to complete full-time post-secondary education, including the study of property & casualty insurance. It offers financial assistance in the form of up to four scholarships each year - $1,500 for college level and $2,500 for those going to university.

Each recipient is selected in consideration of outstanding academic excellence throughout their educational career, exceptional contribution to school, community life and/or other meaningful pursuits, major accomplishments and a strong indication of academic promise.

John E. Lowes scholarship winner Kyle Atkinson of Conestoga College is a qualified chef who decided to change careers and move into insurance by completing his Property & Casualty Insurance Diploma. His teacher attributes his academic excellence to “pure hard work and a true desire to join the insurance industry.” (continued.)


Kathy Matte, who also attends Conestoga College, is completing a Business Insurance Co-op and has the highest first-year average in the history of the program. The keen community volunteer said she had no previous knowledge of the insurance industry prior to pursuing her studies in the area, but she decided to investigate “after seeing many local job postings asking for the CIP designation as a prerequisite.”

Daniel Levinson of Mohawk College has been on the Dean’s list for two semesters at Mohawk, earning his honours in two CIP courses. He said he made a strategic decision to study insurance and the more he learns about the industry and the options available, the more “hooked” he becomes.

Alexandra DeMarchi of Wilfrid Laurier University is studying her Honours Bachelor of Business Administration, majoring in insurance and risk management. She said her father first gave her the idea of insurance as a career choice and she’s excited to further her understanding of the business, particularly in the field of risk management.

Toronto Insurance Conference scholarship recipient Dhruv Vyas, of the Richard Ivey School of Business, majors in business administration and was the Vice President of Finance for the Ivey student council, managing over $250,000 dollars for the student community. Dhruv has a strong interest in business and working in the community to help others achieve their potential. (continued.)


Neelam Vyas of Wilfrid Laurier University doesn’t declare her major until next year, but she already knows she wishes to “pursue a career in either finance or risk management.” Neelam held the honour roll for all four years of high school and is proactive in both the school environment as well as the community.

Thilini Indraratne, also of Wilfrid Laurier University, majors in marketing, has won several awards, and has a strong history of volunteerism. Having worked in the insurance industry for over two years, Thilini wishes to complete her CIP designation and combine it with her marketing knowledge towards an exciting career in insurance.

Shown in the photo are (from left to right) Daniel Levinson, Alexandra DeMarchi, Kathy Matte and Kyle Atkinson, with Wayne Briggs, Chair of the John E Lowes Insurance Education Fund.


Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!