HK government appoints directors of Insurance Authority

New chairman and directors will serve three-year terms

HK government appoints directors of Insurance Authority

Insurance News

By Gabriel Olano

The Hong Kong government has named a mix of incumbent and fresh names as directors of the Insurance Authority (IA) to serve three-year terms.

Chief Executive Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor appointed Stephen Yiu Kin-wah as the new chairman of the IA. At the same time, Ivy Cheung Wing-han, Evelyn Lam Ho-yi, Lam Wai-kong, Ares Leung Kwok-ling, Terry Lo Kin-wing, Derrick Pang Yat-bond, Anson Wong Man-kit, SC, and Kenneth Wong Wing-yan were named as new non-executive directors (NEDs). Four incumbent NEDs were reappointed, namely, Clement Chen Cheng-jen, Agnes Choi Heung-kwan, Theresa Ng Choi-yuk and Anna Wong Wai-kwan.

Their terms will run from Dec. 28, 2021 to Dec. 27, 2024.  

“Together with the eight newly appointed members and NEDs, the IA will comprise distinguished members from different sectors of the community including insurance, actuarial science, accountancy, law, health, labour and welfare/consumer affairs, banking and business in the new term,” said Financial Secretary Paul Chan. “The diversified membership will enable the IA to better respond to community needs while contributing to the development of Hong Kong as an international risk management centre.”

Chan also expressed gratitude to the six outgoing NEDs for their “dedicated services during their terms of office.” These are Samuel Chan Ka-yan, Chan Wai-sum, Chitty Cheung Fung-ting, Kenneth Kwok Tsun-wa, Ma Ho-fai and James Wong Chien-kuo.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!