PLUS unveils new insurance professional designation programme

It will focus on serving cyber professionals

PLUS unveils new insurance professional designation programme


By Lyle Adriano

As cybersecurity becomes a bigger concern for organisations that have transitioned to remote working in the wake of the pandemic, the Professional Liability Underwriting Society (PLUS) has unveiled a new designation programme for cyber liability professionals.

The new Cyber Professional Liability Practitioner (CPLP) designation builds on PLUS’s Registered Professional Liability Underwriter (RPLU) designation, but with a cyber liability slant. The CPLP designation is a specialised one, which allows cyber liability professionals to distinguish themselves in a highly competitive and evolving market.

To earn a CPLP designation, a professional must have experience in the cyber liability insurance industry. Candidates must compete five PLUS curriculum modules; attend a virtual cyber university; and complete the new PLUS breach scenario eLearning course “Held for Ransom” in order to obtain the designation.

CPLP designees are also required to complete at least 12 continuing education credits related to the cyber insurance industry every two years.

“This programme has been in development for quite a while now, so we are very excited to launch this new designation,” said PLUS CEO Robbie Thompson. “PLUS has a strong industry reputation for providing meaningful professional development opportunities in numerous formats and the CPLP continues that tradition.”

Thompson added that the new designation offers cyber industry professionals a rare opportunity to build their knowledge and differentiate themselves from their peers.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!