Three new directors named to HK Insurance Authority

Government taps representatives from business, insurance, and banking sectors

Three new directors named to HK Insurance Authority

Insurance News

By Gabriel Olano

Hong Kong Chief Executive Carrie Lam has appointed three new non-executive directors to serve on the Insurance Authority (IA). They are: Clement Chen Cheng-jen, Agnes Choi Heung-kwan, and Theresa Ng Choi-yuk.  

A statement from the Hong Kong government said that the three directors’ terms will begin on October 28 and last until December 27, 2021.

“The three appointees are distinguished representatives from the business, insurance and banking sectors,” said Hong Kong Financial Secretary Paul Chan. “We welcome them to the IA and are confident that they will provide invaluable contribution to the work of the IA.”

Chen is the executive director of Tai Hing Cotton Mill Ltd, chairman of the council and the court of the Hong Kong Baptist University, and former chairman of the Vocational Training Council. Choi is an insurance veteran who held several key management roles in major insurance companies such as AXA and HSBC Insurance. She is currently Asia ambassador of the International Union of Marine Insurance.

Meanwhile, Ng previously held a number of senior positions in retail and private banking, and is now a lay member of the council of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

According to the announcement, from October 28, the IA will be led by chairman Moses Cheng Mo-chi, with the following directors:

Samuel Chan Ka-yan
Chan Wai-sum
Clement Chen Cheng-jen
Chitty Cheung Fung-ting
Agnes Choi Heung-kwan
Kenneth Kwok Tsun-wa
Ma Ho-fai
Theresa Ng Choi-yuk
James Wong Chien-kuo
Anna Wong Wai-kwan
Stephen Yiu Kin-wah
Clement Cheung Wan-ching
Carol Hui Mei-ying
Simon Lam Sui-kong
Stephen Po Wai-kwong
Mr Raymond Tam Wai-man

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!