ANZIIF announces board changes

ANZIIF announces board changes | Insurance Business Australia

ANZIIF announces board changes
The Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) welcomed a new deputy chair and a new board member at their AGM held this week.

Allan Reynolds, EGM – direct & New Zealand of Steadfast, will take on the role of deputy chair with Tim Considine, managing director of Austbrokers Countrywide, officially welcomed to the board after commencing as a director in January 2016.

Karl Armstrong, chief risk officer of IAG New Zealand, will stay on for another term as president, it was also announced.

ANZIIF CEO Prue Willsford welcomed the new members.

“We are so pleased to welcome Tim and Allan, both of whom have extraordinary experience in the industry as well as vision,” she said.

“As ANZIIF looks to the future, our board will provide invaluable guidance and insight.”

Reynolds explained why he was pleased to take on the role of deputy chair.

“Through its world-class education, membership and community initiatives, ANZIIF plays a vital role in supporting insurance professionals, businesses and the industry to grow and succeed.

“I am looking forward to working with ANZIIF’s members and partners across insurance at this exciting yet challenging time,” he said.

Departing directors, board deputy president Heinrich Eder of Munich Re, Colin Fagen of QBE and Frank Crapis, previously of Munich Re, were also acknowledged during the AGM.

Willsford and past president Jonathan Fox also recognised a number of award winners and members for their contribution to ANZIIF and the insurance industry.

Former ANZIIF president Tony Morgan was recognised with honorary membership for his extraordinary service to ANZIIF, having been involved with the organisation for over 40 years.

He is known as one of the region’s leading experts on business interruption and is the former president of the Australasian Institute of Chartered Loss Adjusters.

The annual ANZIIF Service Award was presented to ANZIIF fellow Alan Brown who was recognised for his work mentoring and supporting young insurance professionals and for his significant contribution to the development of education materials for ANZIIF students in Papua New Guinea.

Brown previously held roles with Zurich, AIG and QBE.

The EE Vines Memorial Prize for the most outstanding article written by a member for ANZIIF’s quarterly publication, Journal, was awarded to QBE New Zealand’s Alistair Monk for his article ‘The war we lose’.

Monk’s essay discussed the challenges insurers face in balancing the consumer demand for competitively priced insurance products with those that meet their needs and provide adequate cover.

The full ANZIIF board line-up is now:

Karl Armstrong (president) – Chief Risk Officer – IAG New Zealand Ltd
Allan Reynolds (deputy) – EGM – direct & New Zealand – Steadfast
Jonathan Fox (immediate past president) – general manager – Elders Insurance Ltd
Paul Allison – principal and COO – Guy Carpenter
Andrew Bart – CEO – Crawford & Co Australia
Megan Beer – director of insurance – AMP
Tim Considine – managing director – Austbrokers Countrywide
Daniel Fogarty – consultant
Tony Lee – executive director – Seascope Risk Services (Hong Kong) Ltd
Callan McDonnell – Executive manager, CI learning campus, commercial insurance learning and development – Suncorp
Paul Munton – EGM – Rothbury Insurance Brokers
Prue Willsford – CEO – ANZIIF