NIBA names latest award winners

NIBA names latest award winners

NIBA names latest award winners NIBA has named another batch of award winners for its broker and young broker of the year awards.

The winners, from New South Wales and the ACT, were revealed last week as James Dunk, of Dunk Insurance, took the broker of the year prize, while Stephen Allan, of GSA, took the young broker award.

Search and compare insurance product listings for Brokers from specialty market providers here

Dunk saw off competition from Ron Tomsic and Michael Whyte of Marsh, while Allan overcame Tim Richmond, of Oxley Insurance Brokers, and James Harmer, of JLT. Both Dunk and Allan will now move forward to contest national awards to be announced at the NIBA Convention in September.

“We wish James and Stephen the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry,” NIBA CEO Dallas Booth said. “We had a significant number of applications this year, and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

For Dunk, success in the ward runs in the family, as his father John Dunk was named NSW/ACT broker of the year in 2016.

Sponsored by QBE, the Stephen Ball Memorial Award for broker of the year is awarded to a broker who is deemed an inspirational role-model for the broker community.

Christine Bell, QBE regional manager for NSW/ACT, said that it is important for the industry to recognise its best and brightest.

“Again this year, the calibre of entries demonstrates the continual development and professionalism of our broker partners and we’re delighted to work with them to deliver great outcomes for our customers,” Bell said.

The Warren Tickle Memorial Award, presented to the young broker of the year and sponsored by Vero, celebrates those under 35 and Yusuf Alexander, Vero state manager NSW/ACT, said that Allan stands a good chance on the national scale.

“Stephen has already demonstrated he is true leader. In addition to his professional commitments, he has shown a strong commitment to ongoing professional development, coaching his peers, and serving the community,” Alexander said.

Dunk and Allan join previously announced winners from Victoria and Tasmania, John Farrell of Steadfast Taswide Insurance Brokers and Adam Ware of BJS Insurance Brokers (Gippsland), in the running for the top prizes.

Related stories:
NIBA names first award winners
NIBA announces two new board members