ANZIIF honours industry leaders with prestigious awards

Recipients were recognised for their dedication, passion, and professionalism

ANZIIF honours industry leaders with prestigious awards

Insurance News

By Roxanne Libatique

The Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) has revealed the winners of this year’s Honorary Life Membership Award, ANZIIF Service Awards, and the E.E. Vines Memorial Prize.

The awards, which were announced at ANZIIF’s Annual General Meeting, honour individuals who have made significant contributions to the insurance industry.

ANZIIF’s 2024 Honorary Life Membership Award recipient

Honorary Life Membership is given to those who have demonstrated extraordinary service to ANZIIF over an extended period at the national or international level.

This year’s recipient is Megan Beer (pictured), group chief operating officer at Resolution Life, ANZIIF (fellow) CIP, ANZIIF president (2019 to 2021), ANZIIF director (2015 to 2022).

ANZIIF’s 2024 Service Award recipients

The Service Awards recognise ANZIIF members who have provided notable contributions to the organisation. The recipients this year are:

  • Jim Karafilis, ANZIIF (fellow) CIP and former member of ANZIIF’s General Insurance Faculty Advisory Board; and
  • Michael Pennell PSM, chief underwriting officer at Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation, ANZIIF (fellow) CIP, member of the Reinsurance Rendezvous Organising Committee at ANZIIF, and former chair of ANZIIF’s Reinsurance Faculty Advisory Board.

ANZIIF’s 2024 E.E. Vines Memorial Prize recipient

The E.E. Vines Memorial Prize, established in 1956 in honour of Ernest Edward Vines, the first secretary of the Australia Insurance Institute, is awarded annually for the best article by an ANZIIF member.

This year’s recipient is Siew Wei Chai, corporate authorised representative at Aon, ANZIIF (senior associate) CIP, and author of “Insurance premiums and affordability: How can we curb the cycle of loss and costs?” published in the ANZIIF Journal (vol. 46, no. 2).

“The recipients of these awards exemplify dedication, passion, and professionalism within the insurance industry, and we, at ANZIIF, would like to congratulate them and wish them success with their future endeavours,” the organisation said.

ANZIIF is still accepting entries for the 12th New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards, which aim to celebrate the contributions and successes of insurance professionals and businesses in the country.

The selection process for this year’s awards involves a panel of insurance industry experts who will independently assess each entry and make selections under the guidance of an independent auditor. The deadline for submissions is on July 12.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!