Full list of NZ industry awards announced

Full list of NZ industry awards announced | Insurance Business

Full list of NZ industry awards announced
There could be some sore heads in the insurance industry today as the big winners from the most prestigious night of the year celebrated their success.

Cunningham Lindsey, AA Insurance and NZI won their categories – Claims Service Provider, Direct Insurance Company and Intermediated Insurance Company - for the third consecutive year.

And NZI became the best represented company on the night among the winners with Emerging Young Professional winner June Kuan and Insurance Leader of the Year Karl Armstrong both working for the IAG-owned company.

Newly appointed NZI EGM, Travis Atkinson, accepted the award but ensured that Karl Armstrong came back on stage to share the glory.

“I’ve only been here six weeks!” he said. “Karl Armstrong is an icon of the industry and has built up a fantastic legacy in the last six years as head of the business.”

Direct insurer Tower won Innovation of the Year for their SmartDriver app, Finity Consulting won Service Provider of the Year and Asteron Life took out the prize for Life Insurance Company of the Year.

Crombie Lockwood’s James Shearing took out the Broking Professional of the Year while Rothbury Insurance Brokers knocked Willis out of the running for their consecutive win by nabbing the title for Large Broking Company of the Year.

Managing director Roger Abel said it had been a fantastic few months for them as they were also nominated for the Best Workplace Award.

“I want to thank the leadership team I work with, the 14 branch managers that we’ve got here and our 220 staff and 30,000 broking clients – thank you very much.”

He said later he was looking forward to sharing the news of the win with parent company Steadfast boss, Robert Kelly, who was due in New Zealand today.

DLA Phillips Fox won their second consecutive win for Law Firm of the Year.

CEO of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF), Prue Willsford, gave a well-received speech at the beginning of the night, likening New Zealand’s insurance industry to one big family who all enjoy seeing each other succeed.

She said: “While there are a lot of great things happening globally in the insurance community, make no mistake: New Zealand is leading the world.

“The innovation, level of performance and commitment that characterises New Zealand’s insurance industry is something to be extremely proud of.

Meanwhile, across town at the New Zealand Law Awards, insurance featured prominently as well.

AIG Insurance NZ won the Insurance In-House Team of the Year and the Insurance Specialist Firm of the Year award went to McElroys.

There was more excitement at the Insurance Awards for finalist Henry Wallace from NZI.

While he missed out on winning the prize for Emerging Young Professional, he had to leave the event early after receiving a call from his partner who had just gone into labour.

With a prize like that awaiting, his disappointment didn’t last long.

Here is the full list of winners:

Service Provider of the Year – Finity Consulting
Law Firm of the Year – DLA Phillips Fox
Claims Service Provider of the Year – Cunningham Lindsey
Emerging Young Professional of the Year – June Kuan, NZI
Broking Professional of the Year – James Shearing, Crombie Lockwood
Insurance Leader of the Year – Karl Armstrong, IAG
Innovation of the Year – Tower
Large Broking Company of the Year – Rothbury Insurance Brokers
Life Insurance Company of the Year – Asteron Life
Direct Insurance Company of the Year – AA Insurance
Intermediated Insurance Company of the Year - NZI