Insurance scores multiple finalists at NZ law awards

Insurance scores multiple finalists at NZ law awards | Insurance Business

Insurance scores multiple finalists at NZ law awards
Big names in the insurance law world have been nominated for awards at the highlight of the legal industry calendar – the 2014 New Zealand Law Awards.

The finalists for the insurance in-house team of the year are AIG, IAG New Zealand and Vero with the in-house individual lawyer of the year being IAG’s Martin Hunter.

IAG’s legal crew is also one of six in-house teams nominated for the more general Russell McVeagh in-house team of the year award, facing competition from ASB Legal Services, NZ Treasury, NZ Transport Agency, The Guardians of NZ Superannuation and Z Energy.

IAG’s acquisition of Lumley Insurance was one of six major M&A deals that put firms Russell McVeagh and Webb Henderson in the running for the M&A deal of the year award, along with IAG’s in-house team.

Fidelity’s acquisition of Tower’s life insurance business has warranted a nomination for Chapman Tripp, DLA Phillips Fox and Simpson Grierson alongside banks First NZ Capital and Goldman Sachs and in-house teams from Fidelity Life Assurance and Tower.

AIG Insurance have sponsored the insurance specialist law firm of the year award, with four finalists DAC Beachcroft, Grant Shand, Kennedys and McElroys vying for the top placing.

The winners of the 10th annual NZ Law Awards will be announced on 6th November at Auckland’s Pullman Hotel.