Australian Insurance Industry Award winners announced

Australian Insurance Industry Award winners announced | Insurance Business

Australian Insurance Industry Award winners announced
The winners of the 2016 Australian Insurance Industry Awards have been announced by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) and founding partner Asia Insurance Review.

Aon, commended for its strong business strategy, active contribution to thought leadership, and patronage of industry professionalism, won Large Broking Company of the Year for the fourth time in five years.

Lambros Lambrou, Aon Risk Solutions CEO, said: “This esteemed industry award win formally acknowledges the exceptional performance of our talented team right across the business, and at every level.”

“Our commitment to providing the best solutions through empowering results for our clients has led to consistent and organic growth despite a challenging industry environment.”

Meanwhile, first-time winners Austrobrokers Coast to Coast and Adroit Insurance Group nabbed Small Broking Company and Medium Broking Company of the Year respectively.

Also bagging the Underwriting Agency of the Year award for the first time was Australia’s market leader in pet insurance, PetSure (Australia) Pty Ltd.; while NRMA Insurance was recognised as Direct General Insurance Company of the Year.

Fresh faces also won in the Life Insurance Company of the Year and Professional Services Firm of the Year awards: AMP and Barry.Nilsson. respectively.

For the individual categories, Adam Hines of Aether Insurance & Risk Pty Ltd and Emma Doney of YDR Chartered Loss Adjusters, Engineers and Surveyors were recognised Young Insurance Professionals of the Year; Annabelle Butler of the Suncorp Group was named Insurance Leader of the Year; and John Trowbridge won ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award.
Winners in other categories are the following:
  • Gallagher Bassett − Youth Development Employer of the Year;
  • Suncorp − Innovation of the Year;
  • AIA Australia − Women’s Employer of the Year;
  • Allianz Australia Insurance − Large General Insurance Company of the Year;
  • RAA Insurance − Small-Medium General Insurance Company of the Year; and
  • JB Hi-Fi − Service Provider to the Industry of the Year award.
Prue Willsford, ANZIIF CEO, said she was pleased with this year’s winners: “It is wonderful to see so many first-time winners at the Awards as well as the recognition of industry stalwarts, which reflects the breadth and depth of achievement in Australian insurance.”

“What is clear from our winners, and indeed the many finalists and other submissions at this year’s Awards, is that the industry is increasingly focused on evolution and adapting to meet the changing needs of customers. This is integral to our growth and success, and so it was very pleasing to see this focus evident in many of the submissions.”

Related stories:
2016 Australian Insurance Industry Awards finalists announced
Australian Insurance Industry Awards winners announced