ICA announces new board president

ICA announces new board president | Insurance Business

ICA announces new board president
The Insurance Council of Australia (ICA) has announced that Mark Milliner has returned as president.

Milliner, currently IAG’s chief operating officer, was a director of the ICA board from 2009 to 2015 and held the presidential position from 2012 to 2014.

Andy Cornish has retired from the ICA board having served in the position since January 1 2015.

Heinrich Eder, retiring managing director of Munich Holdings of Australasia, also stood down from the board.

“Mark’s two decades of experience and his passion for the industry, as well as his expertise in businesses such as workers’ compensation and compulsory third party insurance, will be pivotal in helping the industry take on the economic, technological and regulatory challenges of the coming years,” ICA CEO and board executive director Rob Whelan said.

“I am pleased to accept the role of ICA President and look forward to working with ICA CEO Rob Whelan and the Board on ensuring a sustainable future for the industry, and engaging with stakeholders to build stronger and more resilient communities,” Milliner said.

Milliner thanked Cornish and Eder for their contribution to the industry over their illustrious careers.

“On behalf of the Board I would like to thank Andy Cornish for his services to the ICA and the industry,” Milliner continued.

“Andy has championed many key initiatives, including fairer funding for the emergency services, better-informed consumer decision-making through improved consumer disclosure processes and consistent advocacy towards greater community resilience and stronger natural disaster mitigation measures.

“I also extend the Board’s appreciation to Heinrich Eder for his 10 years of service to the Board and the significant contributions he’s made to resolving crucial issues in times of change for the industry.”

The current ICA board members are:

Mark Milliner, chief operating officer, IAG Limited
(Appointed July 1, 2015, previously served as President of the Board 2012 to 2014,
Director since 2009)

Deputy President
Colin Fagen, group chief strategy officer, QBE Insurance (Australia) Limited
(Director since August 8, 2011, appointed Deputy President on January 1, 2015)

Executive Director and CEO
Rob Whelan, Insurance Council of Australia
(Chief Executive Officer since March 22, 2010)

Noel Condon, chief executive officer, AIG Australia Limited (appointed May 5, 2011)
Anthony Day, chief executive officer Insurance, Suncorp (appointed February 4, 2016)
Richard Enthoven, chief executive officer, The Hollard Insurance Company Pty Limited (appointed May 3, 2013)
Niran Peiris, managing director, Allianz Australia Insurance Limited
(appointed February 8, 2013)
David Russell, chief executive, RAA Insurance Limited (appointed May 8, 2015)
Mark Senkevics, managing director and head of Australia & New Zealand, Swiss Reinsurance Company Limited (appointed May 3, 2012)
Helen Troup, managing director, Commonwealth Insurance Limited
(appointed May 8, 2015)

Aussie insurance industry reacts to Brexit
Insured storm losses soar to $235 million
ICA urges mitigation funding boost