NIBA announces winners of WA broker awards for 2022

NIBA announces winners of WA broker awards for 2022 | Insurance Business Australia

NIBA announces winners of WA broker awards for 2022

The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has named Derek Ford and Selena Piggott as the winners of this year's NIBA WA Broker Awards.

Ford, the director of FordSure and an authorised representative at Insurance Advisernet Australia and New Zealand, took home the Broker of the Year Award this year. He is a seasoned insurance and risk management professional with a wealth of experience in marine and aviation, logistics, mining, oil and gas, agribusiness, education, retail and wholesale, church groups, and not-for-profit sectors.

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community and has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

Lorelle Hillman, general manager partnerships – business, QBE Australia Pacific, commented: “On behalf of the QBE team, I'd like to congratulate Derek on winning this year's WA Broker of the Year Award. At FordSure, Derek has set a very high standard of customer service and client advocacy, and we commend him for his remarkable broking achievements.”

Read more: NIBA delays implementation date of new Broker Code's remuneration section

Piggott, managing principal at Marsh, received the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. She has been with the brokerage giant for over 10 years, starting as an account executive until taking on other roles such as senior account executive, principal, and now managing principal.

The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry's rising stars under age 35.

Shane Butcher, state distribution manager WA at Vero, said: “Selena is a great ambassador for the insurance broking profession. She is a true advocate for her clients, both SME and commercial, and is a great contributor to the broader industry.”

Commenting on the two winners, NIBA CEO Philip Kewin said: “We congratulate Derek and Selena and would like to acknowledge all the finalists who demonstrated a commitment to professionalism and ongoing improvement. We have outstanding talent in the broking industry, and these awards are a fantastic opportunity to highlight the accomplishments of these professionals.”

Ford and Piggott will now compete nationally to win the Stephen Ball Broker of the Year Award and Warren Tickle Young Broker of the Year Award, respectively, which will be chosen from five region winners and announced in October 2022.