NIBA names award-winning brokers

NIBA names award-winning brokers | Insurance Business

NIBA names award-winning brokers

The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has revealed the Victorian/Tasmanian regional winners of two industry awards and praised all those who made it to the final round.

“We had a significant number of applications this year and the finalists represent the cream of the crop,” said NIBA CEO Dallas Booth, before revealing the two worthy winners.

Sponsored by QBE, the Broker of the Year Award went to Penelope Collins, a director at CMIB Insurance Services. The accolade is given to an individual broker who is deemed an “inspirational role model for the broking community” and has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

"Congratulations to Penny,” said QBE regional manager for Victoria & Tasmania, James McCauley. “Her passion for customers and the wider CMIB Insurance Services, as well as her dedication to the wider community and charity work really set her apart during the judging process.”

Leigh Moulden of Doreen Insurance Solutions was named as the second winner, claiming the the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. Sponsored by Vero, the award recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35.

“Leigh is a great ambassador for the insurance broking profession,” said Megan Lewis, Vero’s state manager for Victoria/Tasmania. “He is a true advocate for his clients and a great contributor to the broader industry.”

Booth also passed on his congratulations to the two winners, who will both go on to compete nationally.

“We wish Penelope and Leigh the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry,” he said.

The national Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year will be chosen from five regional winners and announced at NIBA’s national Convention in Hobart on Tuesday 4 September.

2018 VIC/TAS Awards

Broker of the Year
Winner: Penelope Collins, CMIB Insurance Services
Finalists: Mark Laudrum, Ardrossan Insurance Brokers.

Young Professional Broker of the Year
Leigh Moulden, Doreen Insurance Solutions Pty Ltd
Finalists: Brett Batson, Willis Towers Watson; Travis Gauci, Gallagher; Fiona Hancock, Aon and James Pearson, Marsh Advantage Insurance