Koba Insurance takes home insurtech award

Koba Insurance takes home insurtech award | Insurance Business Australia

Koba Insurance takes home insurtech award

Koba Insurance (Koba), one of Australia's first pay-per-kilometre car insurers, has earned the Excellence in Insurtech award at the seventh annual FinTech Australia Finnie Awards.

The annual Finnie Awards is one of the most recognised awards celebrating the success of the Australian fintech industry. A panel of experts, FinTech Australia Board members, CEO, and head of partnerships judged the winners for the first round, and another set of judges in the fintech field across the industry identified the winners in the second round.

Koba took home the Excellence in Insurtech award for 2022, sponsored by IAG Firemark Ventures, beating seven financial services companies.

Read more: Fintech Australia appoints Andrew Porter as CEO

Koba is known for its pay-per-km car insurance that allows customers to pay an upfront cost to cover their vehicles while parked and only a few cents per kilometre as they drive. It was recognised by Insurance Business Australia (IB) as one of the 10 leading insurtech companies in the country in 2021.

In a nod to the Australian fintech industry's growth, no company won more than a single award for the first time in the event's history.

Commenting on this year's awards, FinTech Australia CEO Rehan D'Almedia said it was much more difficult to win a Finnie than ever before.

“When I first started working on the Finnies, we had a handful of companies cleaning up several awards,” D'Almedia said. “Now, thanks to the level of competition and diversity in the market, companies are lucky to win a single award. It's yet another indicator as to just how much the sector has grown and matured in such a short time.”

The other winners of the seventh annual FinTech Australia Finnie Awards are:

Best Workplace Diversity – Tanggram

Emerging Fintech Leader of The Year – Josh Vernon (Wagestream

Female Fintech Leader of The Year – Caroline Bowler (BTC Markets_

Outstanding Fintech Leader of The Year – Dominic Pym (Up

Excellence in Establishing Market Presence (Global) – Wise

Excellence in Industry Collaborations & Partnerships – Flare

Excellence in Business Lending – Octet

Excellence in Consumer Lending – Driva and Wisr

Excellence in Payments (Including Remittance/Fx) – GoCardless

Excellence in Blockchain/Distributed Ledger – Civic Ledger

Excellence in Crypto and Digital Currencies/Wallets/Exchanges – Crypto.Com

 Excellence in Regtech – FrankieOne

 Excellence in Wealth Management (including PFM And Robo) – Raiz Invest

 Excellence in Open Data – Frollo

 Excellence in Fintech Support Services – Astero

Deal of The Year – Zai

Best Partnership of Te Year – Slyp & Divipay

People's Choice (Emerging Fintech Organisation of The Year) – Betacarbon

People's Choice (Fintech Organisation of The Year) – Hnry

Emerging Fintech Organisation of The Year – Nano Digital Home Loans

Fintech Organisation of The Year – Monoova

Hall of Fame Inductee – Simon Cant

“We'd like to congratulate all of the winners, but equally celebrate all of the finalists as the calibre of entries was high across the board,” D'Almedia said.