Entries open for NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards 2019

Entries open for NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards 2019 | Insurance Business

Entries open for NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards 2019

The NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards has announced its hunt for New Zealand’s most sustainable businesses has officially started.

Now in its 17th year, the awards recognise businesses, local government, social enterprises and individuals for success in sustainability. For 12 years now, insurance firm NZI had been involved with the awards as its founding partner.

“As an insurer, we see first-hand the devastating impact that a changing climate can have on our customers and our communities,” NZI executive general manager Garry Taylor said. “NZI and its parent group IAG continue to champion the awareness of the insurance implications of climate change for New Zealand.

“However, tackling climate change will take a collective effort, that’s why we continue to support the SBN and the incredible work it does to inspire this change.

“We look forward to seeing more of the innovation and passion that goes towards making this change in this year’s applications,” Taylor noted.

The awards have 11 categories. These include:

  • Sustainability Superstar
  • Millennials on a Mission
  • Communicating for Change
  • Hardwired for Social Good
  • Partnering for Good
  • Going Circular
  • Efficiency Champion
  • Smarter Transport
  • Revolutionising Energy
  • Transforming Food
  • Restoring Nature

The supreme award will be awarded to a business for outstanding performance in all aspects of sustainability.

Read more: Revealed: New Zealand’s 2019 Young Guns

“The need to act on social and environmental issues is now more pressing than ever,” Sustainable Business Network CEO Rachel Brown ONZM said. “The business case is clear, but we need examples of the solutions and stories of success to inspire others. That’s where these awards come in.

“One of the best ways businesses can get credit and profile for their actions is through success in our awards,” she added.

The awards are open to all organisations and individuals in New Zealand. Submissions close on June 14.