Revealed - Insurance Business Australia Awards 2024 excellence awardees

"A timely reminder of the great work"

Revealed - Insurance Business Australia Awards 2024 excellence awardees

Insurance News

By Daniel Wood

After a round of nominations, Insurance Business is proud to announce the excellence awardees for the Insurance Business Australia Awards 2024.

One excellence awardee from each category listed below will be selected by our judges as the winner. All the winners will be announced and honoured on May 3 at The Fullerton Hotel in Sydney.

A good time to celebrate

Daniel Lukich (pictured below) thinks it’s a good time to celebrate what the industry does well.

“Recent events have placed claims performance under the spotlight with the sector experiencing more than its fair share of negative press,” said Lukich who is sales and strategic relationship manager at AAMC. “This award is a timely reminder of the great work that goes on with a claims team, and an opportunity to shine a light on excellence within what has been a challenging period.”

AAMC, one of Australia’s largest providers of motor accident management services, is sponsoring the Claims Team of The Year award.

The 2024 Awards will be a black-tie gala evening at The Fullerton, one of Sydney’s most beautiful and historic buildings.

This year Insurance Business has introduced new categories including: CEO of the Year, Employer of Choice, Philanthropy and Community Service and a Lifetime Achievement prize. There are no excellence awardees for the Lifetime Achievement Award – the winner will be announced on the night.

Celebrate with industry partners

QBE Australia is sponsoring two prizes: Authorised Representative Network of the Year and the Authorised Representative of the Year awards.

“As our Q nect model is specifically designed to help our Authorised Representatives and brokers achieve their business ambitions, we’re proud to be part of this recognition and look forward to celebrating with our partners,” said Steve Talbot (pictured below), head of Q nect, Partnerships for QBE Australia Pacific.

The full list of excellence awardees appears below and is also on the awards website:


Small Brokerage 

Imperium Insurance and Financial Solutions 
Insurance HQ 
Insurance Lab 
Lockmor Insurance Brokers 
National Insurance Brokers 
VIM Cover  

ShieldCover Medium Brokerage 

Bell Partners Insurance 
Clear Insurance 
Elliott Insurance The Green Broker 
Eternity Insurance and Financial Services 
Grace Insurance 
Trade Risk 

Sponsored by ShieldCover


Large Brokerage 

Aviso WA Insurance Brokers 
BAC Insurance Brokers 
McLardy McShane Insurance Brokers
National Credit Insurance (Brokers)  
Shielded Insurance 

Young Achiever of the Year 

Gareth Downie, PSC Insurance Brokers 
Hayden Clarke, PSC amgi 
Lara Morgan, allinsure 
Skie Mitchell, Tasmanian Insurance Brokers 
Tim Hardy, MGA Insurance Group Canberra 

QBE Q nect Authorised Representative of the Year 

Frans du Plessis, Grace Insurance 
Peter Chamberlain, allinsure 
Scott O'Neill, CP Insurance Services 
Spencer Hon, Eternity Insurance & Financial Services 
Sumit Sopori, Imperium Insurance and Financial Solutions 

Sponsored by QBE Q nect

QBE Q nect Authorised Representative Network of the Year 

Insurance Advisernet 
McLardy McShane Partners
Oracle Group Australia

 Sponsored by QBE Q nect

Broker of the Year 

Deon Locke, Lockmor Insurance Brokers 
Matt Whitley, PSC 
Matthew Bates, Bll Partners Insurance 
Regan Pugh, Elliott Insurance the Green Broker 
Shane Brady, Stone Lane Broking & Risk Advisory 
Tanushree Arora-Sopori, Imperium Insurance and Financial Solutions 
Underwriting Agency of the Year 

Agile Underwriting Services 
Blue Zebra Insurance 
CHU Underwriting Agencies 
Clover Insurance 
Emergence Insurance 
GT Insurance 
MECON Insurance 
Underwriting Agencies of Australia 

AAMC Claims Team of the Year 

Allianz Australia 
Berkley Insurance Australia 
CHU Underwriting Agencies 
Emergence Insurance 
Woodina Underwriting Agency 

Sponsored by AAMC

Excellence in Diversity, Equity & Inclusion 

Allianz Australia 
Crawford & Company (Australia) 

Philanthropy & Community Service - CSR 

Ansvar Insurance 
Stella Insurance 
Woman of Distinction 

Aimee Henderson, Grace Insurance 
Claire Burke, CHU Underwriting Agencies 
Shelagh Bock, GT Insurance 
Tanushree Arora-Sopori, Imperium Insurance and Financial Solutions 

BDM of the Year 

Jason Sysouphat, UAA Group
Pamela Beilby, CGU Insurance 
Stephen Carey, Delta Insurance Australia 

Insurer of the Year 

Allianz Australia 
Berkley Insurance Australia 

CEO of the Year 

Glen Riddell, Berkley Re Asia Pacific 
Michael Wood, Woodina Underwriting Agency 
Peter Chamberlain, allinsure 
Tony Dodd, GT Insurance 
Tony Wheatley, Berkley Insurance Australia 

Outstanding Customer Experience 

AIA Australia 
Bell Partners Insurance 
Berkley Insurance Australia 
Elliott Insurance the Green Broker 
Trade Risk  

Employer of Choice 

Allianz Australia 
Berkley Insurance Australia 
Emergence Insurance  

Best Service Provider – Claims 

ARC Projects 
Credit Clear 
Envista Forensics 
Sedgwick Australia 

Best Service Provider - Insurtech 

BizCover for Brokers 
Duck Creek Technologies 
Sync Technologies  

Australian Brokerage of the Year 

This award recognises the most outstanding brokerage operation in Australia. The excellence awardees in this category comprise the winners of the brokerage categories: 

  • Small Brokerage 
  • Medium Brokerage 
  • Large Brokerage 

Excellence awardees will be announced on the night. 

Lifetime Achievement 

This is the highest honour at the Insurance Business Australia Awards. 

This award recognises and celebrates a leading figure who has contributed much to the advancement of the insurance industry in Australia. 

This award will acknowledge someone with an established history and reputation of distinguished service to the insurance profession and who has exhibited leadership and provided inspiration to others in the sector and own workplace, whilst putting the interests of the industry at the top of their priorities throughout their career. 

As mentioned above, there are no excellence awardees for this category. Nominations will be evaluated by the shortlisting team. The recipient of this award will be contacted before the awards and will be revealed at the Insurance Business Awards gala dinner.

Thanks to our supporters 

Thanks to our sponsors for investing in this industry event: AAMC, QBE Australia and ShieldCover, Financial Education and Crawford & Co.

See you there!

The 2024 Insurance Business Australia Awards are taking place on May 3 at The Fullerton Hotel in Sydney. You can register for the awards here.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!