UAC reveals nominations for board vacancies

UAC reveals nominations for board vacancies | Insurance Business

UAC reveals nominations for board vacancies

The Underwriting Agencies Council (UAC) is looking to fill four vacancies on its board of directors.

Competition for board roles is tight, with five nominations for the four spots, which includes four retiring directors seeking re-election and one former director vying for a return to the board. Directors are elected for two-year terms.

Current directors seeking re-election are vice-chair Emily Walker (Axis Underwriting), treasurer Trent Brown (Allstate Underwriting), company secretary and public officer Heath Amber (Millennium Underwriting Agencies), and Simon Lightbody (Steadfast Underwriting Agencies).

Kevin Corkery (Wellington Underwriting), who is seeking to return to the board, was first elected as an associate director in December 2008 and elevated to a directorship in February 2009. However, he did not stand for re-election in December 2010 due to work pressures at the time.

The election will take place during the UAC annual general meeting on December 10, 2020 (Thursday) at 10am (AEDT). UAC will host the meeting in the GDLaw boardroom, level 40, 161 Castlereagh Street, Sydney NSW, and held concurrently electronically.

UAC chair Kurt Nilsen (Lion Underwriting) and fellow directors Eric Lowenstein (Tego), Jeanene Hill (Canopius), and Anthony Porter (AFA) are not required to stand for election this year.