2019 ICNZ and ANZIIF Scholarship opens for submissions

2019 ICNZ and ANZIIF Scholarship opens for submissions | Insurance Business New Zealand

2019 ICNZ and ANZIIF Scholarship opens for submissions

The Insurance Council of New Zealand (ICNZ) and the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) have announced that submissions are now open for their scholarship program this year.

The 2019 ICNZ and ANZIIF Scholarship, which was developed to recognise industry professionalism and leadership potential, offers a prize of NZ$10,000 to attend an international industry event, leadership conference, or seminar program.

“This scholarship not only provides the winner the opportunity to develop their understanding of the industry in a global context, but will help them to further develop their leadership skills. Representing New Zealand, the winner will grow their professional network among their international counterparts,” said Tim Grafton, chief executive at ICNZ.

Prue Willsford, chief executive officer at ANZIIF, added that the recipient of the scholarship will have the opportunity to learn from experts at a significant global conference.

Read more: ANZIIF hosts industry learning seminars in Jakarta and Bangkok

ICNZ and ANZIIF are encouraging young insurance professionals in New Zealand to apply for the scholarship.

To be eligible for the scholarship, the applicant must be a direct employee of a member of ICNZ, citizens or permanent residents of New Zealand, and under the age of 35.

Eligible applicants must submit a 2,500-word essay to provided questions on this year’s topic:

“Advanced data analytics and risk based pricing advances will allow us to identify and select from ever narrowing risk pools. Does granular pricing of individual property risks challenge a basic concept of insurance?  Discuss the implications of granular pricing for insurers and their dealings with customers and any other stakeholders you think are relevant.”

Applications for the 2019 ICNZ and ANZIIF Scholarship close at 5pm (NZDT) on October 16, 2019. The winner will be announced in late December.