NIBA reveals winners of regional Broker of the Year awards

Regional winners will go on to compete for the national award at the virtual convention in October

NIBA reveals winners of regional Broker of the Year awards

Insurance News

By Duffie Osental

The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has revealed its regional Broker of the Year award winners for 2020.

NIBA’s Broker of the Year award is sponsored by QBE and goes to an individual broker who is “deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community.”

The winner for New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory is Austbrokers ABS Strata’s Connie Yang, with Aon’s Mary-Catherine Thomas as a finalist. For Queensland, the winner is Austcover’s Lana Mawer, with Trade Risk’s Jennifer Steger and CPR Insurance Services’ Robert Cooper as finalists.

Max Cuzzocrea, of Maxton Insurance Brokers, was named winner for South Australia and the Northern Territory, with Robert Fraser of Gallagher Alice Spring as a finalist. Steven Coltman of Adroit Insurance & Risk is the winner for Victoria and Tasmania, with James Skiadas of IMC Insurance Brokers and Michael Stewart of Stewart Insurance Group as finalists.

Finally, Shelley Hymas of Phoenix Insurance Brokers is the winner for Western Australia, with Brian Martinovich of MBA Insurance Services and Michael Davis of Westside Insurance Specialists as finalists.

“We wish Connie, Lana, Max, Steven and Shelley the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professional excellence and competence in general insurance broking,” said Dallas Booth, chief executive officer of NIBA.

“We had a significant number of applications this year and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

“On behalf of the QBE team, I’d like to congratulate the 2020 Broker of the Year award winners,” said Jason Clarke, chief customer officer, commercial lines at QBE. “There is an abundance of talented brokers across the country, so being named a finalist and a winner, especially in the current environment, is truly outstanding.”

The regional winners will go on to compete for the Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Insurance Broker of the Year, which will be awarded during the 2020 NIBA Virtual Convention in October.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!