FSC unveils winners of 2022 awards

FSC unveils winners of 2022 awards | Insurance Business New Zealand

FSC unveils winners of 2022 awards

The Financial Services Council (FSC) has revealed the winners of the 2022 FSC Awards at a gala dinner held on Wednesday at the Cordis Hotel in Auckland.

The awards, which received a record number of nominations this year, recognise the outstanding achievements and contributions of individuals, teams and businesses across the financial services industry in New Zealand, the FSC said. It also marks the return of face-to-face conferences for the FSC, after the cancellation of the 2020 and 2021 galas due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

AIA New Zealand’s product and investment team received the Innovation and Wellbeing Award, which recognises “excellence by an organisation in relation to the wellbeing of clients, staff and the NZ community, as well as broader diversity and inclusion initiatives.”

Russell Hutchinson, director and owner of Chatswood Consulting, received the Chairman’s Award for Service to the Industry. Hutchinson was formerly general manager for marketing at Sovereign Assurance Company, which was later acquired by AIA.

The other winners were:

  • Emerging Leader Award: Dean Anderson, Kernel Wealth
  • Team of the Year Award: It Starts With Action Working Group
  • Improving Consumer Outcomes Award: Whai Rawa Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu
  • Governance Award: New Zealand Automobile Association
  • Workplace Savings Award: Chye Heng, Beca

Two insurance finalists received “highly commended” awards – Partners Life’s claims team for Team of the Year Award, and Mercer for the Innovation and Wellbeing Award.

“This is the first in-person conference we've been able to hold in several years due to the pandemic,” said Richard Klipin, FSC chief executive. “During this time, the sector has stepped up and weathered the COVID storm, continuing to innovate, deliver services and products, manage regulation and change, and serve New Zealanders during incredibly challenging times. We congratulate all the winners of tonight’s awards for your mahi, your passion and your dedication to financial wellbeing of all New Zealanders.”