ANZIIF announces winners of 2021 Australian Insurance Industry Awards

ANZIIF announces winners of 2021 Australian Insurance Industry Awards | Insurance Business Australia

ANZIIF announces winners of 2021 Australian Insurance Industry Awards

October is a busy month for the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF), which has now revealed the winners of its 2021 Australian Insurance Industry Awards, shortly after announcing the winners of the 2021 Aon Scholarship and the new Donna Walker Awards.

Now in its 17th year, the latest ANZIIF Australian Insurance Industry Awards celebrated the accomplishments of individuals and companies sharing a common pursuit of excellence and exceptional dedication to the Australian insurance industry.

Marsh won this year’s Large Broking Company of the Year award, sponsored by QBE. Meanwhile, Warren Saunders Insurance Brokers took home the Medium Broking Company of the Year award, and Trade Risk the Small Broking Company of the Year award.

Insurance Advisernet is the 2021 Authorised Representative Network of the year. Meanwhile, CHU Underwriting Agencies (CHU), which won the Underwriting Agency of the Year award in 2017 and 2018, won the award again this year (it was sponsored by the Underwriting Agencies Council).

For general insurance companies, ANZIIF awarded the Large General Insurance Company of the Year award (sponsored by Steadfast) to Hollard Insurance and the Small General Insurance Company of the Year award (sponsored by JB Hi-Fi Solutions) to Guild Insurance.

Other companies that took home an award included:

  • Life Insurance Company of the Year: MetLife Australia;
  • Insurtech of  the Year (sponsored by Sedgwick): Codafication;
  • Professional Services Firm of the Year: Finity;
  • Service Provider to the Insurance Industry: Paynters;
  • Excellence in Workplace Diversity and Inclusion: Hollard Insurance; and
  • Insurance Learning Program of the Year: Sedgwick.

For individuals, Linh Nguyen (Sedgwick) is the Young Insurance Professional of the Year and Damien Mu (AIA Australia and New Zealand) the Insurance Leader of the Year. Meanwhile, Wayne Goodall took home the ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award for 2021.

Read more: ANZIIF announces winners of Donna Walker Awards

ANZIIF CEO Prue Willsford congratulated all winners, adding: “All have displayed excellence and a commitment to professionalism over the past year. The awards highlight the incredible work organisations and individuals are doing to make a difference in the community.”

Commenting on receiving the company’s third Underwriting Agency of the Year award, CHU CEO Kimberley Jonsson said: “Like most businesses and the community, COVID-19 has presented a significant challenge, but CHU saw an opportunity. Our response to the impact of the pandemic and the need to work from home was to launch a permanent hybrid working model.”

Meanwhile, MetLife CEO Richard Nunn said MetLife Australia is thrilled to take home the Life Insurance of the Year award, which reflects the company’s focus on its customers, partners, and people.

“I’m incredibly proud of the entire MetLife team, who have worked tirelessly over the last two years to continue to support our customers and each other despite the disruption of the pandemic,” Nunn added. “We have consistently demonstrated our people-first approach, our commitment to our partners and customers, and our ability to adapt to the rapidly changing life insurance industry. It’s fantastic to the recognised for all the hard work put in from everyone across the organisation.”

Hollard Insurance CEO Paul Fahey also commented on taking home two awards, saying: “We are humbled and honoured to be recognised in this way. Our commitment to diversity and inclusion underpins our positive business approach to people, customers, and the community. This ethos drives our family culture and ensures our people can bring their whole selves to work.”

He also highlighted “Hollardite” Jessie Wang’s achievement as a finalist for the Young Insurance Professional of the Year award, adding: “We’re proud of Jessie and the 650 Hollardites around the country who truly are the driving force behind these awards.”