Change in UAC board nominations announced

Change in UAC board nominations announced | Insurance Business

Change in UAC board nominations announced

The Underwriting Agencies of Australia (UAC) has announced a change to the nominees for the UAC board of directors.

Read more: UAC inundated with board nominations MM

Lyndon Turner, who has been UAC chair since December 2015, has decided not to stand for re-election at the general annual meeting, which will be held on Dec. 11 at Lloyd’s Australia in Sydney.

With Turner stepping down as board nominee, there are now just 10 nominees competing for the four vacancies for the two-year board role.

Turner “has decided the time is right for him step down because UAC is in a healthy position and he needs to focus on corporate responsibilities to his rapidly growing NM Group of companies,” UAC said. “He also feels stepping back enables momentum, energy, and fresh thinking, aligned with historical knowledge, to develop from the ranks of an excellent field of nominees for the forthcoming election, supported by the continuing directors.”

Meanwhile, two retiring directors are up for re-election – Kurt Nilsen from Lion Underwriting and Eric Lowenstein from Tego. Other nominees are Ross Webster, from Mecon; Jeanene Hill, from Canopius; Ben Johnston-Bradford, from SUA; Gabriele McDonald, from Protecsure; Kevin Corkery, from Wellington Underwriting; Brett Jackson, from Sura; Chris Dardaneliotis, from Sterling; and Anthony Porter, from AFA.