UAC sees record nominations for board positions

UAC sees record nominations for board positions | Insurance Business Australia

UAC sees record nominations for board positions

The Underwriting Agencies Council (UAC) has received an overwhelming number of nominations for four directorships.

A senior executive of all financial UAC member agencies may vote on the agency's behalf of four of the nominees to each fill a two-year term on the board. The 12 nominees, in the order in which they will appear on the ballot paper, are:

  • Troy Filipcevic, founder and CEO, Emergence;
  • Colin Fagen, founder and managing director, Blue Zebra Insurance;
  • Hamish McDonald-Nye, executive director of ProRisk;
  • Matthew Porteous, head of partnerships & engagement, Market Lane Insurance Group;
  • Alan Brett, commercial underwriting leader, Australasia Underwriting;
  • Simon Lightbody, CEO, Steadfast Underwriting Agencies and Miramar Underwriting Agency;
  • Jesse Borthwick, director and chief underwriting officer (CUO), Insurance Investment Solutions;
  • Heath Amber, CEO, Austplacements;
  • Emily Walker, head of strata and development, Axis Underwriting;
  • Stephen Carey, co-founder and director, Delta Insurance Australia;
  • Trent Brown, founding director, Allstate Underwriting; and
  • Richard Hardy, underwriting director, Argenta Underwriting Australia.

The positions on the ballot paper were decided by an independent draw. Among the nominees, retiring directors seeking re-election are Simon Lightbody, Heath Amber, Emily Walker, and Trent Brown.

Read more: UAC boasts record turnout for Hobart underwriting expo

The UAC annual general meeting (AGM) will be held at 10am on December 8, 2022, at Gillis Delaney Lawyers, level 40, ANZ Tower, 161 Castlereagh St, Sydney.

Commenting on the AGM and board nominees, UAC general manager William Legge encourages member principals entitled to vote on behalf of their agency to vote in advance to assist in counting the votes.

“This is a record number of nominees for UAC and indicates the respect the agencies have for their peak industry body and the strong position that agencies have achieved in the insurance market,” Legge said. “Agency principals are keen to have their say in how UAC operates and ensure the sector's outstanding growth continues to accelerate.”

Four board members who are not required to stand for election in 2022 are:

  • UAC Chair Kurt Nilsen, managing director, Lion Underwriting;
  • Jeanene Hill, head of coverholder and delegated authority, Asia Pacific, Canopius Australia;
  • Anthony Porter, national business development manager, AFA Insurance; and
  • Mike Edmonds, executive general manager, National Transport Insurance.