Wawanesa Insurance picks recipients of Community Wildfire Prevention Grants

A total of $150,000 to be awarded to communities

Wawanesa Insurance picks recipients of Community Wildfire Prevention Grants

Catastrophe & Flood

By Terry Gangcuangco

The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company (Wawanesa Insurance) has named this year’s recipients of its Community Wildfire Prevention Grants.

The following communities will be awarded a portion of the grant amounting to $150,000:

  • Alongside Property Owners Association
  • City of Whitehorse
  • Douro-Dummer Township Fire Department
  • Parkland County Fire Services
  • Saulteau First Nations
  • Watson Lake Fire Department
  • Bimose Tribal Council
  • City of Yellowknife
  • Edson Fire Department
  • RM of Victoria Beach
  • Setting Lake Cottage Owners Association
  • Westwood Hills Residents Association  

The grants were developed in partnership with FireSmart Canada and the Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction.

Anna McCrindell, senior vice president and chief operating officer, East, stated: “Supporting community wildfire prevention helps build a safer, more sustainable future for us all. Last summer’s wildfire season was the worst on record for Canada, and the need to prepare communities is more apparent than ever.

“Wawanesa is honoured to support the efforts of these communities and will continue to help Canadians reduce their wildfire risk.”

What do you think about this story? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!