ACORD shares 2020 InsurTech Leaders list

It recognises innovators in insurance technology

ACORD shares 2020 InsurTech Leaders list


By Ryan Smith

ACORD, the global standard-setting body for the insurance industry, has released its annual InsurTech Leaders list, which recognises insurtech innovators with the greatest current and future ability to change the industry through insurtech.

This year’s list has been expanded to recognise leaders in three key areas: collaboration, sustainability and inclusion, and global ecosystem-building. The 2020 list was presented in conjunction with Alchemy Crew, whose co-founder and CEO, Sabine VanderLinden, has been a perennial member of the InsurTech Leaders list.

“These leaders are driving tangible outcomes and real change in insurance,” said Bill Pieroni, president and CEO of ACORD. “The unique challenges of 2020 haven’t changed the fundamental realities of the digital landscape, or the execution imperatives for our industry – they’ve spotlighted previously existing issues, created a sense of urgency, and accelerated change. These insurtech leaders will play a key role in moving our industry forward.”

ACORD’s 2020 InsurTech Leaders are, in alphabetical order:


  • Jonathan Beerman, SVP Americas, Chief Technical Accounting & Administration Officer, SCOR
  • Bill Devine, SVP, Business Capabilities Office, Travelers
  • Varun Dua, co-founder and CEO, Acko
  • Jennifer Fitzgerald, co-founder and CEO, Policygenius
  • Gabe Glynn, co-founder and CEO, MākuSafe
  • Ian Macartney, SVP, Head of Innovation, Argo Group
  • Frank Neugebauer, Senior Architect, Cincinnati Financial
  • Bob Olson, CIO Reinsurance, Aon
  • Marshall Sims, Senior Product Owner, Agent Engagement and Integrations, Liberty Mutual/Safeco
  • Assaf Wand, co-founder and CEO, Hippo

Sustainability and inclusion

  • Dame Inga Beale, DBE, former CEO, Lloyd’s of London
  • Tahir Farooqui, founder and CEO, Canopy
  • Guy Goldstein, co-founder and CEO, Next Insurance
  • Liri Halperin, co-founder and CEO, LeO
  • Carolina Klint, Managing Director & Risk Management Leader, Continental Europe, Marsh
  • Tulsi Naidu, CEO, Zurich Insurance UK
  • Sten Saar & Harry Franks, co-founders, Zego
  • Rain Takahashi, founder and CEO, Jauntin
  • Tobias Taupitz, co-founder and CEO, Laka
  • Julian Teicke, co-founder and CEO, wefox

Global ecosystem-building

  • James Birch, Development Director, Ki Insurance and Head of Innovation, Brit Insurance
  • Aldo Capurro, CEO, C Consulting
  • Joe Dainty, AGM London Market Transformation, DXC Technology
  • Emmanuelle Ganne, Senior Analyst, Economics & Statistics Division, World Trade Organization
  • Pascal Lehmann, Head of Americas Operations – P&C Business Management, Swiss Re
  • Shuja Noorani, Chief Marketing Officer, Anoud Technologies
  • Jonathan Prinn, Managing Director, BGC Partners
  • Ian Summers, CEO, Sequel
  • Henri Winand, co-founder and CEO, AkinovA
  • Paul Wishman, Vice President, Global Insurance, CGI

“This year we are recognising the unique work and effort of leaders from around the globe who have driven change and made a difference in 2020,” VanderLinden said. “The new year will bring unique opportunities to the world of insurance through emerging technology-led thinking, development, and execution. Many insurers and insurtechs are now considering ways to sustain growth while caring for the less fortunate and embedding diversity and inclusion to attract new talent. The future requires new thinking in terms of operational resilience and business-model design. These leaders are doing what they can to shape the world of tomorrow.”

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!