What happened: An Ontario court approved a $150 million settlement resolving Aviva's denial of COVID-19 business interruption claims for 49,000 policyholders nationwide.
Who's involved: Aviva Insurance Company of Canada and four representative plaintiff businesses, with a class spanning Ontario, Quebec, and British Columbia.
What's at stake: $150 million in settlement funds, with $40.68 million in legal fees and an estimated $10.2 million levy to the Class Proceedings Fund.
Why it matters: This landmark COVID-era business interruption settlement sets a benchmark for how pandemic coverage disputes can resolve in Canada - and what class members actually walk away with.
Where it stands: Settlement approved October 16, 2026; claims administration by BDO Canada now underway.
Four Ontario businesses and 49,000 fellow policyholders will split $150 million from Aviva Insurance Company of Canada - and most will be paid for exactly 30 days of lost income, even if their policies covered more.
The Ontario Superior Court of Justice approved the national settlement on October 16, resolving a class action over Aviva's denial of business interruption claims during the COVID-19 pandemic. The settlement covers policyholders whose coverage included restricted access or negative publicity endorsements - two types of business interruption protection that specifically respond to income loss from mandatory business closures or an infectious disease outbreak within 25 kilometres of the insured premises.
The class action was filed in July 2020 and approved to proceed as a class action in March 2023. It was heading for a six-week trial in January 2026 before the parties reached a deal through mediation.
Not every Aviva business interruption policy is in play here. The settlement covers only those with restricted access coverage, which pays when mandatory closures shut a business down, or negative publicity coverage, which responds to income loss from an infectious disease outbreak nearby. Of the roughly 49,000 policyholders in the class, only about 3,600 gave formal notice of their claims, and just 2,162 of those actually held the relevant coverage.
That gap was one of the key risks hanging over the case. Aviva argued that the roughly 95% of policyholders who never filed a formal claim had no right to recover at all - and were too late to start. Class counsel pointed to three other risks: the difficulty of proving each member's coverage was actually triggered by a local outbreak or closure order, the complexity of putting a dollar figure on tens of thousands of individual claims, and the prospect of years of appeals and individual hearings even after a win at trial.
The court found the settlement traded those uncertainties for certainty.
Out of 49,000 class members, nine filed valid objections. Four came from people who had never given notice of their claims. Of the remaining five, four did not attend the hearing.
One did. A veteran insurance lawyer appeared on behalf of his daughter, a specialist medical practitioner in Quebec whose policy carried a 60-day coverage period - twice the standard 30 days most class members hold. The distribution protocol pays every class member for 30 days of lost income, regardless of their policy terms. The objector called this a "confiscation" - his daughter's policy covered her for double, and she stood to leave roughly half her claim on the table.
The court acknowledged the objection was well-reasoned and the legal arguments detailed and knowledgeable. But it held that a class action is a collective enterprise - not 49,000 individual claims heard together for convenience. The representative plaintiffs owe a duty to the class as a whole, and inevitably some claimants will recover less than their full entitlement so the group can optimise its overall recovery.
The practitioner's losses during the first 60 days of the class period were in the range of $500,000 - enough, the court noted, to make it worthwhile for her to opt out and pursue her claim alone. She chose not to.
The settlement math breaks down roughly as follows. Class counsel takes $36 million plus $4.68 million in HST, totalling $40.68 million - about 27% of the fund after tax. The court noted this was below the 27.5% rate in the retainer agreement, a voluntary reduction by counsel. On a time basis, the legal team invested more than 12,800 hours over five years, representing $8.1 million in billable value. The approved fee works out to roughly 3.9 times that figure - a measure courts use to assess whether the fee reflects the risk counsel took on by working without guaranteed payment.
The Class Proceedings Fund - a provincial program that protects representative plaintiffs from being personally liable for the other side's legal costs if the case fails - takes an estimated $10.2 million, its standard 10% share of the net settlement after legal costs. Each of the four representative plaintiffs receives a $15,000 payment in recognition of their contribution to the case, including multiple rounds of sworn statements, cross-examinations, and examinations for discovery.
What remains after fees, the levy, and administration costs flows to eligible class members through a claims process run by BDO Canada.
The settlement closes the most prominent Canadian test of whether restricted access and negative publicity endorsements respond to pandemic losses - but it does not answer the question on the merits. No court has ruled on whether those policy wordings actually cover COVID-19 shutdowns, and none will in this case. For coverage counsel and underwriters, the legal question remains open even as $150 million changes hands.
For brokers advising commercial clients, the practical takeaway sits in the notice numbers: Aviva's argument that 95% of the class was too late because policyholders never filed formal claims is a pointed reminder of what can go wrong when businesses do not report losses promptly - even when the loss event is a national emergency.
The claims in this action were resolved by settlement. The settlement is not an admission of liability by Aviva, and the underlying coverage questions have not been determined by a court.