Big “I” names new chair

Big “I” names new chair | Insurance Business America

Big “I” names new chair

The Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America (the Big “I”) has announced that it named John Costello as 2022-2023 Big “I” chairman at the recent Big “I” Fall Leadership Conference in Niagara Falls, N.Y. Costello is vice president and construction practice member at USI Insurance Services.

Costello has held numerous positions for the Big “I” at both the state and national level. He is the former chairman of the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of New York, past president of the Independent Insurance Agents of Monroe County, and was the 1995 Monroe County Insurance Professional of the Year. Costello formerly served on the Big “I” board of directors and chaired the organization’s finance committee. He was elected to the Big “I” executive committee in 2016.

“With his nearly 40 years of experience in the insurance industry, John’s experience and commitment to the independent agency channel and the association will help guide Big ‘I’ members through the opportunities and challenges ahead,” said Bob Rusbuldt, Big “I” president and CEO. “We’re grateful to have his leadership as the association continues to go above and beyond to serve independent agents.”

Costello said that a focus of his chairmanship would be helping agents overcome the difficulties presented by the industry’s talent gap and the worsening economic forecast.

Read next: The Big “I” is partnering with IBA’s special reports

“Making sure agents have the tools they need will be crucial, and I’m excited to lead at the national level as we help members to navigate the current environment,” he said. “Insurance is all about helping other people, and that mission will continue to guide us.”

Michael McBride of Mason-McBride in Troy, Mich., was named Big “I” chairman-elect, and Todd Jackson of Indianapolis-based McGowan Insurance Group was named vice chair. Costello succeeds chair Bob Fee of Kansas-based Fee Insurance Group. Fee will remain on the Big “I” executive committee for another year as immediate past chair.