Recipients of 2024 TD Scholarship for Indigenous Peoples named

"We are proud to play a role in supporting students"

Recipients of 2024 TD Scholarship for Indigenous Peoples named

Non-Profits & Charities

By Terry Gangcuangco

TD Bank Group (TD) and AFOA Canada have announced the 25 recipients of this year’s TD Scholarship for Indigenous Peoples. The 2024 cohort represents a diverse group of students from First Nation, Inuit, and Métis communities nationwide.

Each scholarship recipient will receive $15,000 annually for up to four years, covering tuition and living expenses. Additionally, they will have access to internship opportunities with TD, gaining valuable work experience, and an offer of full-time employment upon completing their studies.

The following are this year’s scholarship awardees:

  • Amber Big Plume, Tsuut'ina Nation, Alberta
  • Arden Elliot, Mattagami First Nation, Ontario
  • Audrey Robertson, Fisher River Cree Nation, Manitoba
  • Brianna Patrick, Roseau River Anishinaabe First Nation, Manitoba
  • Cailen Davis, Membertou, Nova Scotia
  • Dante Carter, Onion Lake Cree Nation, Saskatchewan
  • Fitzgerald Stuart, Inuvik, Northwest Territories
  • Jayna Maytwayashing, Lake Manitoba First Nation, Manitoba
  • Jessica Mirasty, Flying Dust First Nation, Saskatchewan
  • Kate Young, Lac La Ronge, Saskatchewan
  • Kaylei Denny, Eskasoni First Nation, Nova Scotia
  • Kya Steinbach-Parker, We'koqma'q, Nova Scotia
  • Lonnie Cote, Cote First Nation, Saskatchewan
  • Madeline Wastesicoot, Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation, Alberta
  • Maxine Iron, Lac La Ronge Indian Band, Saskatchewan
  • Meghan Breen, Deh Gáh Got'îê First Nation, Northwest Territories
  • naskwâw Laframboise, Manitoba Métis Federation, Manitoba
  • Neylan Stevens, Eskasoni First Nation, Nova Scotia
  • Norma Handsor, Tŝideldel First Nation, British Columbia
  • Sadie Turning Robe, Carry The Kettle First Nation, Saskatchewan
  • Saskia-Mae Livingstone, Métis Nation of Alberta, Alberta
  • Shera Wysote, Listuguj Mi'kmaq First Nation, Quebec
  • Teagan Dubiel, Métis Nation of Saskatchewan, Saskatchewan
  • Tyler Trudeau, Wabaseemoong Independent Nations of One Man Lake, Swan Lake, and Whitedog, Ontario
  • Valerie Bozark, Dene Tha' First Nation, Alberta

“We are proud to play a role in supporting students from Indigenous communities in their journeys towards achieving their academic and career ambitions,” TD vice president of indigenous banking Doris Bear stated. “It is also our privilege to help connect them with employment opportunities under the program, as well as make our terrific network of colleagues and leaders available to them as part of this experience.”

Launched in November 2022, the scholarship program is managed by AFOA Canada, an Indigenous-led not-for-profit organization.

“The TD Scholarship for Indigenous Peoples can help transform the lives of students and is also an investment in the future of Indigenous communities,” Terry Goodtrack, president and chief executive of AFOA Canada, declared. “This scholarship helps empower the student recipients to pursue a positive future for themselves and their communities.”

Among the recipients is Cailen Davis, a business administration student at Saint Francis Xavier University. Davis commented: “I’m grateful to be a scholarship recipient and to be interning with the human resources team at TD this summer… I want to use my business education and learnings through the financial sector at TD to support me, my family, and community back home.”

Applications for the 2025 scholarships will open online starting September.

What do you think about this story? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!