Revealed – Insurance Business Canada award winners for 2022

Hundreds of insurance professionals gathered for glamorous festivities

Revealed – Insurance Business Canada award winners for 2022

Insurance News

By Roxanne Libatique

Hundreds of insurance professionals gathered at the Liberty Grand in Toronto on November 17 to celebrate the annual Insurance Business Canada (IBC) Awards 2022.

Now in its seventh year, the IBC Awards has been recognised as the leading independent awards program in the insurance industry across Canada. The awards aim to recognise outstanding brokers, brokerages, insurers, underwriters, MGAs, and risk managers for their achievements, leadership, and innovation over the past 12 months.

This year's winners are:

  • Best Service Provider (Claims) – DSB Claims
  • Best Service Provider (Insurtech) – Trufla Technology
  • Business Development Manager of the Year – Asima Zahid, Lloyd's Canada Inc.
  • CEO of the Year – Andy Taylor, Gore Mutual Insurance Company
  • Digital Innovator of the Year APRIL Canada
  • Excellence in Claims Service – Ecclesiastical
  • Excellence in Diversity, Equity & Inclusion CNA Canada
  • Leader of Change – Sukhdeep Kang, Armour Insurance Brokers Ltd.
  • The Advocis Award for Life & Health Insurer of the YearDesjardins
  • The Armour Insurance Award for MGA of the Year – Burns & Wilcox Canada
  • The Burns & Wilcox Award for Big Brokerage of the Year (100 Staff or More) – Billyard Insurance Group
  • The Cansure Award for Insurance Broker of the Year – Tiffany Reider, Westland Insurance
  • The CNA Award for Excellence in Corporate Social Responsibility – Kent & White Insurance
  • The FIRST Insurance Funding of Canada Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Insurance Industry – Don Forgeron, president & CEO, Insurance Bureau of Canada
  • The PAL Insurance Brokers Award for Young Achiever of the Year – Reygel Robles, JEM Insurance Group Inc.
  • The Steamatic Canada Award for Woman of Distinction – Celyeste Power, Insurance Bureau of Canada
  • The Travelers Canada Award for Brokerage of the Year (Fewer than 10 Staff) – Fuse Insurance Ltd.
  • The Westland Insurance Group Award for P&C Insurer of the YearAviva Canada
  • The XN Worldwide Insurance Award for Brokerage of the Year (10-100 Staff) – Munn Insurance
  • Underwriter of the Year – Amy Stiller, Northbridge Insurance

Arisa Cox, executive producer of Big Brother Canada, hosted this year's IBC Awards. She began her career as a local TV news reporter in Ottawa at 21 while studying at Carleton University's prestigious journalism program, which earned her a Harry Jerome Award for academics. Along with hosting Big Brother Canada, Cox has covered The Grammys, The Oscars, the Sundance and Cannes film festivals, and Survivor for ET Canada in Fiji and LA.

The event was held at Liberty Grand, Toronto, from 6:00pm to 10:30pm, and featured a lavish cocktail reception, awards ceremony and dinner banquet, and an after-party celebration.

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!