Insurance Institute of Canada picks board – chairman revealed

The chair and executive committee come from Canada’s leading insurance companies

Insurance Institute of Canada picks board – chairman revealed

Insurance News

By Alicja Grzadkowska

The Insurance Institute of Canada (IIC) officially has a new board, electing S.J. (Jeff) Goy, president and CEO of The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company, as chair of its board of governors during the IIC’s 65th annual general meeting on October 23.

IIC is the leading professional education body for the Canadian P/C insurance industry, and sets professional standards through its variety of educational programming that helps brokers attain designations, such as the Chartered Insurance Professional (CIP).

“The Insurance Institute of Canada prepares the best and brightest future industry leaders with a broad offering of education programs,” said Goy in a press release. “The Institute has a long-standing history of helping Canadian P/C insurance professionals grow their knowledge and advance their careers, and I am proud to assume this leadership role.”

Peter Hohman, president and CEO of IIC, added that practical and relevant education is critical for insurance professionals that hope to succeed in an ever-changing world.

“The Board of Governors plays an important role in guiding the development of our programs that help prepare people to fulfil their professional and ethical responsibilities,” he added.

Other members of the IIC’s 2018-9 Executive Committee of the Board of Governors include:

  • Patrick Van Bakel, president and CEO of Crawford and Company (Canada) as deputy chair
  • Martin Thompson, president and CEO of RSA Canada Group as vice chair, membership-at-large
  • Lynn Oldfield, president and CEO of AIG Insurance Company of Canada as immediate past chair

Meanwhile, the regional vice chairs include:

  • Colin Warnecke, Western provinces
  • Heather Masterson, Ontario
  • François Jean, Québec
  • Paul Croft, Atlantic provinces

Divisional vice chairs are:

  • Anna McCrindell, academic
  • Mike Kosturik, professionals



Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!